Jeff Bourgeois Named Chairman

Albuquerque, NM, October 2, 2019 – IMMEDIATE RELEASE – Jeff Bourgeois, President & CEO, San Juan Regional Medical Center, Farmington, is the 2019-2020 Chairman of the New Mexico Hospital Association (NMHA) Board of Directors. Bourgeois was elevated to the chairmanship at the 74th Annual Meeting of the Association on September The Board is the highest policymaking body of NMHA, a statewide advocacy group representing 46 hospitals and healthcare systems.

Addressing attendees at the meeting, Bourgeois outlined his purpose “…to provide our state with the best, most accessible and affordable healthcare possible.” He will serve a one-year term, having previously been Chair-Elect, Secretary-Treasurer and Chair of the Quality Committee that presided over a period of sustained, statewide gains in hospital quality and patient safety.

Priorities for the Association under his leadership include continued work in evidence-based best practices for improved patient safety and outcomes, initiatives to strengthen the healthcare workforce throughout New Mexico and access to care for all with a special focus on rural and frontier areas. “There is no doubt that the healthcare environment will continue to face many challenges…I am certain that, working collaboratively, we will successfully face these challenges for the benefit of every New Mexican” Bourgeois said.

Jeff Bourgeois came to Farmington in 2016 from San Antonio, Texas, where he led CHRISTUS Santa Rosa Hospital, Westover Hills, as its President and Administrator and oversaw completion of construction and the start-up of operations from the ground up. While working in Texas, Bourgeois served on the Board of Trustees of the Texas Hospital Association from 2003-2010. 

His broad-based work includes policy and advocacy, rural and small hospital issues and strengthening working relationships between providers and insurance companies. The American Hospital Association (AHA) has recognized Bourgeois for his advocacy work in New Mexico. In 2018, he earned the “Most Valuable PAC Player” award for achievement in fundraising to support the advocacy mission of NMHA.

Officers on the 2019-2020 Board of Directors include Chair-Elect John Harris, CEO, Memorial Medical Center, Las Cruces; Secretary-Treasurer Jamie Silva-Steele, President & CEO, UNM Sandoval Regional Medical Center, Rio Rancho; and Immediate Past Chairman Bill Patten, CEO, Holy Cross Medical Center, Taos.

NMHA Directors-at-large represent hospitals and communities of all sizes and from all corners, reflecting the diversity of our state. They are: Jennifer Barut, CEO, Haven Behavioral Health, Albuquerque; Kate Becker, CEO, UNM Hospitals, Albuquerque; Christina Campos, Administrator, Guadalupe County Hospital, Santa Rosa; Troy Clark, VP, Regional Delivery System, Presbyterian Healthcare Services; Devon Hyde, Hospital CEO, Presbyterian Hospital, Albuquerque;  Derrick Jones, CEO, Lovelace UNM Rehabilitation Hospital, Albuquerque;  Lillian Montoya, CEO, CHRISTUS St. Vincent Regional Medical Center, Santa Fe; Tammie Stump, CEO Union County General Hospital, Clayton; and Warren Yehl, CEO, Eastern New Mexico Medical Center, Roswell. David Shaw, CEO Nor-Lea Hospital District, Lovington, is NMHA Delegate to the AHA. 

More about San Juan Regional Medical Center:


Established in 1945, the New Mexico Hospital Association represents the best interests of community hospitals on legislative, regulatory and public policy issues and works with members and others to improve the health of New Mexicans. The proud membership of NMHA includes New Mexico facilities licensed to provide acute inpatient, specialty or general patient care and health systems and other qualified health care institutions.